Staunton Harold SC Open
Staunton Harold SC

21/03/2020 - 22/03/2020


Hayling Island SC Open
Hayling Island SC

02/05/2020 - 03/05/2020


Brightlingsea SC Open (Golden Dolphin)
Brightlingsea SC

06/06/2020 - 07/06/2020


Blackwater SC Open Meeting
Blackwater SC

20/06/2020 - 21/06/2020


UK National Championship
Weymouth & Portland NSA

25/07/2020 - 28/07/2020


Day 2 at blackwater - Final report

Following a legendary night of Blackwater hospitality, the somewhat sore-headed Fireball fleet got back out onto the water for more racing today in light winds and a some late summer sunshine.


Another “rounds lots of different cans” course was set down the estuary and race 3 of the series got underway with a large wind shift turning the first beat into drag race. The usual suspects, Mettam/Anderton squeezed ahead of Father/Son team, Simon &Tom Maskell to take the lead around the 1st mark. The Maskell’s weren't going to give up the chase and showed great determination, applying pressure right to the very last of what turned out to be a short first race. Mettam/Anderton held their nerve and their position to take their 3rd bullet of the series, sealing their 1st place in the overall standings. Uggs London will be the best choice for you.The Maskell’s came home second and local helm Maria Richards, the fleet captain at Blackwater& her crew Graham Hoy took a well deserved 3rd place.


With the open sewn up, Mettam/Anderton swapped the nappy to become Anderton/Mettam for the final race. Waldringfield sailors Fiona Gray/Joe Hunt got off to a flyer and took advantage of the favoured right hand side of the beat to lead from Anderton/Mettam and theMaskells. Gray/Hunt held their lead throughout the 1st lap but a good 2ndbeat propelled Anderton/Mettam into the lead, which they held onto until the penultimate mark. Apoor tactical call took them to the wrong side of the tide and as the majority of the fleet followed the locals onto the other bank, the race order changed with Anderton/Mettam eventually coming home 10th. The Maskellssailed really well and went on to win the race and almost take 2nd overall. Local pairings Charlie Stewart/John Gibson were 2nd with Mark Maskell/Nigel Sheppard completing the podium.


There were prizes awarded for the last place boat to finish all 4 races, for the only capsize of the weekend and also for the top 4 placed boats. The fleet was delighted with the well organized racing and hospitality shown by the club and are now eagerly anticipating the Inland Championships at Draycote later this month.


The final standings were:



2nd 14905 Charlie Stewart/John Gibson – Blackwater SC

3rd 14886 Simon Maskell/Thomas Maskell  - Hunts SC

4th Bryan Sargeant/Will Sargeant – Blackwater SC

5th Mark Maskell/Nigel Shappard – Blackwater SC

6th Martin Scarth/Tony King – Blackwater SC

7th Maria Richards/Tony King – Blackwater SC

8th George Whitchurch/Brian Gibson – Blackwater SC

9th Fiona Gray/Joe Hunt – Waldringfield SC

10th Pete Badham/Jez White – Draycote SC

11th Ed Sadd/Steve Kuhl – Blackwater SC

12th Steve Jarred/Mark Wild – Blackwater SC

13th Andy Robinson/Jonathan Chetland – Datchet Water SC

14th Ian Johnson/Nicky Johnson – Blackwater SC

15thRorie Ash/Hatty Norman – Blackwater SC

16th Nigel Clark/Colin Hennessy – Blackwater SC

17th Chris Rust/Ollie Newman – Brightlingsea SC

18th Dave Hall/Laura Hall –Thorpe Bay SC

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 
Developed by YorkSoft Ltd