UK Fireball Class Association

Join the UKFA


Next Event
Fireball Training with Adam Bowers and DJ Edwards - April 6

Latest Result
Draycote Water SC Gul Inland Nationals - October 7

0121 428 6850

News / First of Year Race at Notts County Sailing Club

Geoff Parker Memorial Trophy

The Notts County Sailing Club's traditional First of the Year race saw nearly 40 entries, a quarter of which were visitors. Over £428 was raised for RNLI and Macmillan Cancer Support from entry fees (to be shared equally) and a jumble sale of lost property.

The mild weather meant it was relatively warm, probably a good job as the gusty conditions caught many out and only a few avoided a capsize, so the safety boats were kept busy.

Race Officer Stuart Poole set an upwind course, with reaches and runs downwind.

Whilst the 505 of Tim Bird and Richard Nurse led the fleet (and came 5th on handicap) Kevin Hope & Amy Clay were close behind to win on handicap in a Fireball. Mike Rhodes was an excellent second place in his Contender. Third place was a Laser 2000, the first slow fleet boat with Tim Cripps helming and Russ Clay crewing. Will Gardner and Nikki Theokritoft were 4th in a flying fifteen, and the laser of Craig Williamson was 6th.

The windsurfers had a very close race with Gerry Ball leading for much of the race but only by the slightest margin, and a fall on the last mark let Guy Sprekley through to win.


Overall Results:

PosFleetBoat TypeSail NoHelmCrewClubR1
1st Fast Fireball 15050 Kev Hope Amy Clay NCSC 1
2nd Fast Contender 680 Mike Rhodes Ogston 2
3rd Slow Laser 2000 21060 Tim Cripps Russ Clay NCSC 3
4th Fast Flying Fifteen 3655 Will Gardner Nicki Theokritoft NCSC 4
5th Fast 505 9039 Tim Bird Richard Nurse Burton SC 5
6th Laser 200906 Craig Williamson Staunton Harold 6
7th Fast RS400 1131 John Sears Lynsay Ogden NCSC 7
8th Slow Laser 126277 Richard Mason NCSC 8
9th Fast Scorpion 2000 Dave Snutch John Wells NCSC 9
10th Slow Laser 196749 Martin Stott NCSC 10
11th Slow Solo 4646 Ian Firth NCSC 11
12th Slow Laser 1 Barrie Watson Hykenham 12
13th Topper 46590 Lawrence Logan NCSC 13
14th Slow Solo 5027 Ken Twemlow NCSC 14
15th Fast RS400 1336 John Parr Kim Parrtnham NCSC 15
16th Slow Solo 1525 Clive Gimson Melton Mowbray 16
17th Fast Phantom 1261 K Milton Attenborough SC 17
18th K1 19 John Allen NCSC 18
19th Slow 420 51741 Luke Hardy Peter ..... Wanlip 19
20th Slow Stratus 503 Martin hayhoe Jeremy Coupland NCSC 20
21st Slow RS200 1367 Rebecca Ogden Nicola Ogden NCSC 21
22nd Fast Contender 661 Rob Love NCSC 22
23rd Fast RS400 1322 Ross Ryan Kathryn hinsliffe smith NCSC 23
24th Slow Wayfarer 9126 Lucy Beale Sam samuels NCSC 24
25th Fast RS400 1067 James Logan NCSC 25
26th Slow Laser 149617 Arif Ashan NCSC DNS
26th Slow Solo 3744 Jon Willars NCSC DNF
26th Slow Solo 5246 Richard Pepperdine Staunton Harold DNF
26th 505 8945 Neil Rabbits Adam Kenny Burton SC DNF
26th Slow Lark 2330 Rob Corner Freya Corner Attenborough SC DNF
26th Fast RS400 532 James Hopkinson Richard Hubbard NCSC DNF
26th Slow Wayfarer 9028 Andy Clark Jill Clark NCSC DNF
26th Slow Lark 2296 John Marshall Karen Marshall NCSC DNF
26th Slow Laser Radial 143090 Adrian Jones NCSC DNF
26th Slow Solo 5042 Phil Davis NCSC DNF
26th Slow Vago 1042 Alex Hughes Richard Hughes NCSC DNF
26th Fast Fireball 14780 Alex Piggott John Rowell NCSC DNS
26th Fast Fireball 13114 Andrew Stewart H. Thomas NCSC DNF




  • You will be able to attend the organised events
  • We work with various suppliers to bring you discounts
  • The UKFA Coordinate fireball opens and organise National and inland champs
  • We Keep you upto date on many media platforms

| Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Diversity and Inclusion Statement | Acceptable Use Policy |
UK Fireball Class Association 2022 | Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd