Grafham Grand Prix
Grafham Water SC

02/01/2022 - 02/01/2022


Bloody Mary
Queen Mary SC

08/01/2022 - 08/01/2022


King George Gallop
King George SC

22/01/2022 - 22/01/2022


Tiger Trophy
Rutland SC

05/02/2022 - 06/02/2022


Staunton Harold SC Open Meeting
Staunton Harold SC

25/03/2022 - 26/03/2022

Fireball Munster Championship at Royal St. George


Fickle winds, black flags, strong tides and superb hospitality!

The fifth and concluding regatta of the Irish Fireball season, the Munster Championship, was won by Kenny Rumball and Dave Moran of the Royal St. George Yacht Club. Leading overnight by a margin of 4 points with a race win in the bag, the pair won Race 4 at the start of Sunday morning to consolidate their lead, but a 3 and a 7 (later discarded) in races two and three on Sunday saw their lead reduced to a single point after discard.

In second place overall, were Andy Pearce and Hugh Butler, counting 12 points after discarding their worst result, a 9th in Race 1. They amassed four 2nd places and a fourth and were in third place overnight.

Noel Butler and Seamus Moore finished another point behind Pearce/Butler. Their worst result was a 5th (in Race 3) but they counted a race win, a 2nd, two thirds and a fourth.

The points margin to 4th place was a comfortable 6pts and that slot was occupied by Niall McGrotty and Robert Mahon who opened their account with a race win. However, like 13 others in Race 3, a BFD was added to their points account leaving them down the overall standings on Saturday night.

Home helm, Mike Murphy, crewed by Alex Voye, were in 5th overall, 10 points adrift of the Skerries combination, while the next two in the overall standings, Andy Boyle and Teddy Byrne and Neil Colin and Margaret Casey had the pleasure of winning the last race on the Sunday and Saturday respectively. Louis Smyth/Joe O'Reilly, John Dunne/Matt Barnes and Daire McNally/James Clancy rounded out the top ten.

In the 28 boat fleet, various people had good results; Richard Fox and Ed Lowe (Killaloe) had a 3rd in Race 2 and an 8th in Race 3. Louise McKenna & Cormac Bradley also counted good results in these races (7th & 10th). Daire McNally scored an opening 4th, while Damien Bracken, sailing with his GP14 crew, Allen Parker, scored a 4th and 5th on Day 1.

Winners of the Silver fleet, Derval O'Carroll and Siobhan Hayes hit a high of 8th place in Race 4, having rounded the first weather mark in 3rd place, and took the title on count-back after a points tie with Jim Ryan and David Tanner. Mary Chambers and Brenda McGuire took third place in the Silver fleet.

The regatta marked the return of the Killaloe fleet to the regatta scene with fours boats in attendance. Two of those took away prizes; Ryan/Tanner in the Silver fleet with Mark Donegan/Rathnait Long winning the Classic Trophy. A number of other combinations that we haven't seen all season made a return to Fireballing with Frank Cassidy/John Hudson, the aforementioned Michael Murphy/Alex Voye and Kieran Harkin/Patrick Kiersty taking to the water and Mick Creighton returning after a summer in sunnier climes.

Race Officer Sean Jones had a difficult day on the water on Saturday when Mother Nature, in the form of fickle winds made his life difficult and saw the black flag coming out for Races 2 and 3. Three boats fell victim to the flag in Race 2 but 14 boats' crews had an early shower from Race 3. Sunday saw better winds but the trapezing conditions were marginal at best. While the lead boats got away on occasion the bunch chasing them was quite tight with a lot of close quarter sailing going on, particularly on the off-wind legs.

Dunmore East is a popular venue for the Fireball Class and as per usual their hospitality was exceptional. Commodore Andy Torres' wife, Margaret, singlehandedly put together a superb spread, particularly in the desserts department with pavlova, fruit salad, chocolate mousse, flans, profiteroles and fresh cream in abundance. An exceptional effort on her behalf! Mark Kettle was his usual efficient self in setting up the regatta, handling the registration and results and "MC-ing" the prize-giving.

Full Results

Overall Results:

1. Kenny Rumball & Dave Moran (Royal St. George Yacht Club) 11pts
2. Andy Pearce & Hugh Butler (Royal St. George Yacht Club) 12pts
3. Noel Butler & Seamus Moore (Dun Laoghiare Motor Yacht Club) 13pts
4. Niall McGrotty & Robert Mahon (Skerries Sailing Club) 19pts
5. Michael Murphy & Alex Voye (Waterford Harbour Sailing Club) 29pts

Silver Fleet

1. (17th) Derval O'Carroll & Siobhan Hayes (Royal St. George YC) 76pts
2. (18th) Jim Ryan & David Tanner (Killaloe Sailing Club) 76pts
3. (21st) Mary Chambers & Brenda McGuire (DMYC) 97pts

Classic Trophy - Mark Donegan & Rathnait Long (Killaloe Sailing Club)


Developed by YorkSoft Ltd